Yvonne McEvaddy – Author Profile

Today I’m delighted to introduce Yvonne McEvaddy whose new book Passion Killer is out now. Thanks for a fascinating insight into your life and writing Yvonne.

Tell me a little bit about yourself as a person?

I am a mum of two young children, and a child-minder as well as a writer. I am generally a happy-go-lucky optimist who loves to travel, loves chocolate too much and finds all of life an inspiration, even the rain, which we receive in bucket loads here in the West of Ireland.

Tell me about your journey as a writer – how you started and how you have developed?

When I was five I read my first book all by myself, Enid Blyton’s Stories for Five-year-olds and Older. I was very proud of myself, and also thrilled at the idea that someone could write something that magically transported me into another world. I decided then that was what I wanted to do when I grew up.
I spent my summer holidays writing the start of novels in leftover pages of my copybooks. However, I never got very far with them. The holidays ended and I would go back to school and concentrate my efforts instead on my English essays.
English was my favourite subject in school. I would often rewrite my essays after the teacher corrected them and hand them in again. I’m sure I drove the teachers mad – their workload was surely enough as it was.
When I was seventeen I saw a Western Health Board poster advertising a competition called Write a Natural High. I entered the competition and my essay was published in the anthology called 100 Natural Highs.
I developed eyestrain when studying for my final exams and I turned to poetry, as I needed some form of creative outlet. I was no longer able to read anything except poetry for pleasure. Anything longer than a few pages gave me a headache. In college I joined the Mystic Poets’ Society and published two poems in our anthology, Mystic Spirits.
Then, after eight years, a magical thing happened. I found a great optician who gave me eye exercises to do. Six weeks later I could read again. Then I gave up poetry in favour of novels.
One night, as I was about to go to sleep, the idea for Passion Killer started forming in my head. After a few years of procrastination I wrote the first draft. Then I went to creative writing classes and redrafted it again and again.

 
How would you describe your work – its themes and the important things about it?

I write what I love to read. When living I enjoy the lighter side of life, but when reading and writing I love to explore the darker side.

Tell me about your current book – what is it about and what makes it a great read?

Passion Killer is a murder mystery, a story of how unrequited love, jealousy and obsession become dangerous, turning passion to murder. It revolves around a group of friends in a small town in Ireland. Sylvia arrives home one evening to find her boyfriend, Rick, in a pool of blood. In the course of their investigation, Detectives Barbara Molloy and Mick Naughton question the group of friends and uncover a web of deception. A party the night before the murder left many fingerprints at the scene of the crime. In the tangle of love triangles there are plenty of motives to choose from and few alibis, casting the net of suspicion wide. As the story unfolds, the friends discover secrets and lies that test their relationships to the point of breaking. In order to cast suspicion away from one of their best friends, Alex, the group start to suspect a myriad of acquaintances.
As for what makes it a great read, I’ve been told that it keeps readers guessing until the end and that it is unputdownable. Each reader’s experience will be different and I look forward to hearing more feedback and receiving more reviews.

Where can I buy a copy of your book?

It is available as both ebook and in print.

http://www.amazon.com/Passion-Killer-ebook/dp/B007AGMHFI,
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Passion-Killer-ebook/dp/B007AGMHFI
http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/130921
As well as ordering the print version on-line it is available in some local Galway shops.


I love to connect with my readers, and for this purpose
I can be followed on twitter:
https://twitter.com/yvonnemcevaddy
You can like my author facebook page:
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Yvonne-McEvaddy/255759494518831
You can visit my website:
https://sites.google.com/site/yvonnemcevaddy/home
You can stop by my blogsite:
http://yvonnemcevaddy.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

