Tina Rhodes – Author Profile

I’d like to welcome author Tina Rhodes to my blog today. It’s fair to say Tina has had a tough life – and her life experience has certainly been very different from mine. But her writing seems to have been a constant for her throughout all she’s been through and I’m delighted she’s come along to talk to me today. Tina has self-published texts dealing with everything from her life story to children’s tales and horror stories. Welcome Tina and its lovely to have you visit my blog.

IMG_23935458033878How could I not visit such a lovely blog, Chris. One of the best blogs I’ve read so far…I love it! Feels so cozy as if God lives here. (smile) Hello, everybody. Hope all is well and in good health…God is great! Authors, writers, bloggers and readers should have a meet and greet. That would be lovely. Take care everyone and enjoy your day.

Could you tell us a bit about your life – from growing up to where you are in your life now?

I had both my parents…even after separating. I was born and raised in Brooklyn NYC….with four brothers. I felt my mom and dad favorite the boys, because of my beating, punishments and lack of protection growing up. They never listened to me telling them how people were hurting me.

I was always the teachers’ favorite, person. My teachers saw a smart, bright, intelligent, hard-working student. I did the drawings, poems, writing for the school walls and was the talk of every school I went to. Junior High school and High School I start hanging with family, friends and boys. I fought teachers…even threw chairs at principals. I hated when children bothered me, but I got suspended…my reasons for the attitude and chair throwing.

I dropped out of High school and started selling big drugs. I was pregnant with my first son whom turned twenty-five this month. I was 18 going on 19 when I had my first son, but my very first pregnancy I was fifteen.

I gave up selling drugs, because I had more children and that was not the life I wanted to live around my children. I stop selling drugs when I had my fourth child. I have nine children…six girls and three boys.

Now I am a full-time mom, working from home. I’m into Avon and promoting my books. I have changed so much. My children are my world, my joy, my friend and strengths. We’ve been through so much together. I have never seen such strong children, but I know they’re out there.

Becoming homeless, surviving the streets and shelters for nine years after landlord tried to rape me in front of my children. I lost my Section 8 behind that. Couldn’t afford NYC rent for me and children, but God is great, we here.
I am stable in a four bedroom house, lots of love and blessings.

Tell me a little bit about yourself as a person, what makes you tick?

I am a single mom by choice of nine children. I am a published book author of fifteen titles and more to come. I have a passion for HORROR…anything horror I love it. Aiming to see my work in movies.

I am a Gemini woman whom takes life, children and the people in the world serious. I don’t trust easy, sometime I don’t trust at all…my way of protecting me and my children. Every time I open up to some one …not men, but people period…I find myself and children getting hurt.

What makes me tick is my love, drive and motivation for my children. Don’t mess with my babies.

Tell me about your journey as a writer – why you first wanted to be a writer, when and how you started and how you have developed?

I’ve been writing for years, but personal family problems stood in the way. Growing up I always wrote God. I knew he couldn’t receive my letters by hand, but I knew he knew every thing I wrote him. As long as he knew …I was Happy!

IMG_23681698462960 (1)I started off writing God, than I started off turning my life stories into books. I love horror, so I started writing horror books. I love children…I have nine of my own, so I wrote children books. I had ups and downs with men, so I started doing adult books about love and relationships. The book is called “Serious”
I wrote a book call REAL LIFE STORIES, because I wanted to get all the painful stories out, so readers can hear and see how strong I am. I also was seeking help.

I published with Publish America in 2007. Three checks for only a dollar and some cents. Till this day it hurts, because I don’t promote the book or talk about it. I rewrote it and published it under a different title.

I will be a motivational inspirational speaker and focus on helping people. I want God to use me and what I’ve been through.

How would you describe your writing – it‘s themes and the important things about it?

I have been knocked down, hurt in every way possible…Yet I keep on for the sake of my children. I will continue to be a loving person. No matter what. No hardship can take this love I hold in my heart away from me. That’s my theme.

Tell me about your current book – what is it about and what makes it a great read?

My current book is about helping children learn sentences, solve math problems, learn new words, circling the right answer and more. This book is like a second part to the first one. I make my children books special, because children are very special to me. All children.

Where can I buy a copy of your book?

My first book Real Life Stories is on Amazon, Barnes N Nobles, Target, Borders and more, but I don’t get paid, because of the company, so I don’t bother with it. I deal with the others.
Amazon.com Tina Rhodes books here

Where can we find out more about you?

You can visit these sites to read and see more about me. Robert Womack L A Business Book Review Examiner interviewed me on 3/16/2012. Here

You can follow me on Twitter @Wowbodythicknes

Facebook Tina Wowbodythickness. Rhodes

And my YouTube account

And blog here

9 thoughts on “Tina Rhodes – Author Profile

  1. Tina, you are an example! So in awe of the way you have pulled your life around, and are being a great mum (sorry UK person) to your children. All 9. (pause). Isn’t it great that blogs, Twitter etc can help us to get to know people. God Bless you in your writing future, and in your life in general. Oh – and make sure Chris offers you tea and biscuits before you go..it’s a British tradition.

  2. What amazing inner strength you have Tina! I cannot imagine going through the traumas you have survived with nine (gulp) children to care for alone (even more gulp). I really hope this wonderful world of social media helps you towards success and independence from your writing. Your books for children sound great! My daughters are all grown up, but I have nephews and nieces with children, so I can suggest your books to them! All good wishes to you Tina!

  3. Tina, you are an inspiration. I have to go to work in a few minutes, so I won’t be able to check out your links until I get home. If you haven’t written a book on organizing and managing your time, I hope you do–a prolific writer with nine kids definitely has some tips to share!

Leave a Reply

