Lynn Dixon – author profile

Today I’m delighted to welcome author Lynn Dixon from Chicago to talk about her life and her writing – thanks for coming Lynn, lovely to have you here! 

Tell me a little bit about yourself as a person?

FotoFlexer_PhotoLynn3 (2)I was born in Detroit, Michigan as the youngest of four girls. My father was a truck driver and my mother later became a librarian and teacher after we were raised. Our family moved to Memphis Tennessee when I was about six which was my mother’s hometown. She later became a public librarian and I watched her every move. Then, she was my school librarian when I was in the 5th grade and would frequent the library and read the little blue biographies about famous persons’ lives. She and I attended one year of college together and that was amazing to be able to say, “Hi Ma,” in the hallway. She beat all of her girls by graduating college ahead of us.

All of the travel and movement helped shape me as a writer and an observer of life. Both of my parents were avid readers and great conversationalists, so words were always flowing whether during discourse or while reading. Daddy also took us on many road trips and exposed us to a variety of places. He would even take us over the Memphis Airport and let us watch the planes take off to help us become visionaries.

He relocated the entire family to Chicago to give us an even better lifestyle because there were more jobs in the North for African-Americans. This period is historically known as The Great Migration where millions people of color left the agricultural southern states for industrial jobs in the northern states. I completed high school and college in Chicago and later went on to take up my mother’s professions. I became a high school English teacher and a librarian. I have taught and worked children and youth from elementary years up through the college level.

Tell me about your journey as a writer – how you started and how you have developed?

I wrote feature stories for different newspapers and had my first by-line at age 24 after taking a Feature Story Writing course at Northwestern University. My first article was on child abuse which was just becoming an open topic in the mid-70’s. I also wrote poetry while in college.

I started my first book, A Golden Leaf in Time after a conversation about the challenges of balancing a profession and romance. I recently wrote my latest book, Warm Intrigues in a few months, after taking an early retirement from the school system. I was finally able to sit down and write and not worry about punching the clock or grading papers late into the evening hours.

The first book was written in different formats and on different computers, after work hours from a host of jobs. I kept changing, so the manuscript has gone through quite a few transformations. I just revised it again, but I still see flaws. I am self-published which means out of pocket costs; but I feel that my stories can be of helpful to some and refused to be stymied by the rejections from traditional publishers.

How would you describe your work – it‘s themes and the important things about it?

My first novel, deals with young professionals whose jobs are negatively impacted by being in relationships with the wrong mates. Both characters, who finally meet at the end of the first novel, A Golden Leaf in Time Revised, work hard to build a durable relationship in Warm Intrigues hoping this relationship will last and sustain them through life.

When I look at the talk shows and see all of the truly hurting people, I often think that if they read more and looked for answers in better places, they could possibly solve many of their life problems. I have also seen quite a few friends and co-workers whose jobs have been adversely affected because of unions with the wrong persons. At the end of the first book, I offer a list of self-help books which I call a bibliotheraphy.

Tell me about your current book– what is it about and what makes it a great read?

Warm Intrigues-thumbnailIn my latest book, Warm Intrigues, the two main characters reveal bits and pieces of their lives as they get to know each another. It also highlights the huge distances they are willing to travel to meet each other. Chicago is a very large city and called the Second City here in the States. They live north and south of the entire city itself; so their meetings take a lot of planning. Also, those who know the city will recognize some of the restaurants and hotspots where they meet.

Where can I buy a copy of your book?

All three of my books: A Golden Leaf in Time Revised; Warm Intrigues: A Sequel and Traveling Streams can be purchased in hardback, paperback and in e-book format through the publisher, Trafford Publishing. Amazon and Barnes and Noble have them; but Traveling Streams can only be purchased through Trafford, as an e-book.

I would stress the revised version of A Golden Leaf in Time Revised with the yellow cover.

My website: http://lynnmdixon.com/

Thank you Chris, for featuring me on your blog and in the UK. 

 

10 thoughts on “Lynn Dixon – author profile

  1. Lynn, your parents were wonderful people. They encouraged you to read! It’s so sad that so many of the students I teach tell me they never read. This is a great post and I’ve really enjoyed reading about your background and life. I loved having you on my blog too, but that was a different scenario. I feel I know much more about you now. Lovely! And your books are definitely on my ‘to be read’ list!!

    • Thanks, Val. Yes, my parents gave me a lot to work with. I am blessed to have had them and I feel their influence on my life daily. Glad, that I am on your reading list. Hope to meet you and Chris, one day! Lynn

  2. Hi Lynn,
    My name is Valerie and I read your interview and you had parents that took education serious. I talk to my children all the time about getting an education. I have explained to them how important an education can be and how hard like can be without one. I just finished my first book. I have always wanted to become a writer; however I didn’t think I could ever get it done until now, but there is still lots of work to be done on it. I like to read and I definitely would like to read your stories. I just have one question how do you keep from all of your stories from being basically the same material. Do you find it hard to create new characters and story lines?

  3. Hi Lynn,
    My name is Valerie and I read your interview and you had parents that took education serious. I talk to my children all the time about getting an education. I have explained to them how important an education can be and how hard like can be without one. I just finished my first book. I have always wanted to become a writer; however I didn’t think I could ever get it done until now, but there is still lots of work to be done on it. I like to read and I definitely would like to read your stories. I just have one question how do you keep from all of your stories from being basically the same material. Do you find it hard to create new characters and story lines?

    • Hello Valerie. I think that education is vital. When I have had career bumps on the road, the mere fact that I was degreed helped me to land on my feet. Employers need literate and educated people to help them run their businesses. So you cannot go wrong by stressing the importance of education to your children.

      I think that most writing involves our own lives to an extent, but a lot of reading and observing people help expand your writing. I usually start a novel with a definite plan and chapter outline. I have planned my characters as well, But sometimes once you get into the zone, some events unravel that may even surprise you as the writer.
      Good chatting with you and join me on Twitter @WriterLM.

Leave a Reply

