A new book on the way!

10563217_545777922221017_6114809158228153280_nSome good news for me this week, I’m delighted to be able to say that I signed the contract for my next book. To celebrate, here’s a slightly cheesy picture of me actually signing the actual contract (yes, yes, I know – it seemed like a good idea at the time.)

The book’s called The Pick-Up Artist and it will be published by Magic Oxygen publishing who have given it a tentative release date of February 14th, Valentine’s Day, 2015.

I’m thrilled to have a second novel coming out – it makes me feel like a proper author, I mean, getting one book published could have been a fluke couldn’t it? Having a second on the way feels like I did it on purpose.

magic oxygenMagic Oxygen is a small UK-based publisher. From my dealings with the team there so far it’s clear they are incredibly enthusiastic and committed to doing a great job for their authors, both in producing the book and in helping the author to promote and market it. I am very much looking forward to working with them. To find out more about them on their website click here.

I should say a little about the book. I’m conscious of the fact I’ll have plenty to say about it nearer the time when it comes out, so I‘ll just give you the headlines. As I said, it’s called The Pick-Up Artist and it’s a little lighter, perhaps more commercial, than my current book Song of the Sea God. It’s about a young man’s attempts to find love using the PUA method which claims to teach psychological seduction techniques.

I suppose the title is ironic as it’s about someone who would like to be a great seducer, but isn’t really.

I’m not a big worrier me, can’t be bothered to put in the effort required to really fret about something for longer than five minutes, but I suppose if I do have a little cloud on the horizon at the moment it’s the thought that the people who were most in love with my current novel Song of the Sea God, might not feel the same about this next one. It is a very different sort of a badger. But, in the end, it is still by me and I suppose that comes through. My hope, of course, is that I bring old friends along with me on this new journey and make lots of new ones on the way – but then, that’s what all authors hope. We shall see.

I had fun writing The Pick-Up Artist, people who have read it so far tell me it’s fun to read. But, of course, you, the reader, will be the judge of that when it comes out in a few months time.

Until then I have plenty to do – rewrites on the horizon once the editor at Magic Oxygen has finished with it. And myriad other pieces of work to get involved in from a website the publisher has planned for me through to thoughts about the book cover.

It’s an exciting time, a time of anticipation, like waiting for a new baby. And I am very glad to be involved in preparing for the birth of my second book!

Song of the Sea GodIn the meantime, why not take a look at a book which actually exists? If you get a moment, here’s my book Song of the Sea God.

You can look inside to read the first few pages free and download a free Kindle sample for UK readers here. And for readers in the USA here.

26 thoughts on “A new book on the way!

  1. Congratulations Chris!! That’s brilliant! I know that little cloud of anxiety too, but I’m sure that with your approach to excellence in writing, it will be just as popular and you’ll gain new readers as well as keep the ones who loved Sea God. Well done you. Kudos!!

  2. brilliant news Chris, I was wondering when you would come up with another one, as you don’t strike me as a ‘one trick pony’. Hope it’s as good as ‘Sea God’, as that’s a tough act to follow!
    What made you move from Skylight Press?

    • Thanks Anita, very kind. It’s been written for a while but it always takes time to find the right publisher, or even any publisher! This is a different type of book from Sea God so I knew it required a different publisher – they all have their own niche when it comes to the type of book they take on. Happy as I continue to be with my association with Skylight, I knew this book wasn’t for them, so I didn’t even try it with them – I looked for a publisher with whom it would be the right fit.

  3. That’s excellent news to hear. Congratulations! And I wouldn’t worry about disappointing readers by changing genres or styles. Readers will understand. Authors need to evolve and change, otherwise they become stagnant. And absolutely no-one will enjoy work that is stagnant.
    And on a final note: wonderful idea regarding the photo. I think that’s definitely a moment to immortalise!

Leave a Reply

